Date: Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Time: 8 AM PDT | 11 AM EDT | 3 PM GMT

Click here to register.

Summary

Continuous manufacturing will likely change the way pharmaceutical products are developed and commercialized.  Pharmaceutical drug product manufacturing is typically very complex and involves many different unit processes.  The optimization and validation of these processes require large amounts of drug and are highly empirical.  Despite the need for accurate dosing, the end result of our current manufacturing paradigm is product specifications that are fairly broad.  Continuous manufacturing simplifies the process by removing the need for multiple unit processes and scale up. Additionally, it has the potential to be very capable and well-controlled which should result in increasing the overall quality.  Continuous direct compression tableting represents an excellent example of how the next generation manufacturing paradigm can be achieved with mostly off-the-shelf parts and daring to think differently.

 

Speakers:

Kirk A. VanDer Kamp, Ph.D.
Research Advisor for Eli Lilly and Company in Small Molecule Design and Development

 

Riccardo Panicucci, Ph.D. (Moderator)
Vice President of Pharmaceutical Development at WuXi AppTec

 

Presentations will be followed by Q&A